Preview

LULAC Virtual Summit 2020

Rep. Filemon Vela

Congressman Vela sits on the House Committee on Agriculture and serves as the Chairman of the Subcommittee on General Farm Commodities and Risk Management.  He was the only Texas Democrat appointed by House leadership to serve as a negotiator on the Conference Committee which drafted the most recent Farm Bill. Congressman Vela is a member of the Subcommittee on Commodity Exchanges, Energy, and Credit and the Subcommittee on Livestock and Foreign Agriculture.
 

Congressman Vela is also a member of the House Armed Services Committee, where he has fought to ensure that U.S. servicemembers are prepared to respond to a range of military operations. He is also committed to ensuring that servicemembers and their family have access to housing, healthcare and basic living requirements to sustain them through the challenges of military service. Congressman Vela is a member of the Subcommittee on Seapower and Projection Forces and the Subcommittee on Tactical Air and Land Forces.

In Congress, Vela has been a strong advocate for immigrant rights, education programs, and community federal healthcare centers. He is currently focused on bringing peace and security to our neighbors in Matamoros and Reynosa, and he is working to bring jobs and economic development to South Texas. As Co-Chair of the Congressional Border Caucus, he has led efforts to reform the nation's immigration laws and expand investments in border communities and infrastructure.


Panel Information

Saturday, August 15, 2020

2:00 PM ET / 1:00 PM CT / 11:00 AM PT

A Discussion on COVID-19 and its impact on Health Care and the Latino Community

With special guests Dr. Jill Biden, Rep. Raul Ruiz, and Dr. Robert Rodriguez

Register for this Event